Zanu PF’s sneaky move: How they won Mabvuku-Tafara constituency unopposed

ZEC official Utloile Silaigwana


Zanu PF reclaims Mabvuku-Tafara constituency uncontested, seizing advantage from opposition chaos

In a significant turn of events, the Zanu PF party has regained control of the Mabvuku-Tafara Constituency uncontested, capitalizing on the opposition’s internal turmoil, which led to the recall of its members.

The Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) announced yesterday that Zanu PF’s candidate, Pedzisai Sakupwanya, emerged as the sole winner of the seat as the candidacy of CCC’s member, Kufahakutizwi Febion Munyaradzi, was dismissed by the High Court.

As a result, today’s by-elections will only take place in the remaining National Assembly constituencies of Beitbridge West, Binga North, Bulawayo South, Cowdray Park, Lobengula-Magwegwe, Lupane East, Mpopoma-Mzilikazi, and Nketa.

With Zanu PF’s ongoing efforts to reclaim urban seats, the party aims to secure all eight National Assembly seats to solidify its position as the preferred choice of the people.

According to ZEC’s Chief Election Officer, Mr. Utloile Silaigwana, the candidature of CCC’s Mr. Kufahakutizwi was also invalidated by a High Court Order (HCH7543/23), as stated in the previous press release issued by the Commission.

Given that only two candidates were nominated for the Mabvuku-Tafara National Assembly constituency by-election, Pedzisai Sakupwanya of Zanu PF stands as the sole duly nominated candidate. Consequently, there will be no by-election in that constituency on December 9, 2023.

The statement further declares Pedzisai Sakupwanya as the duly elected member of the National Assembly for Mabvuku-Tafara Constituency, effective from December 9, 2023.

Zanu PF Director for Information and Publicity Cde Farai Marapira said the people of Mabvuku-Tafara and everywhere the ruling party will win are going to be super proud of Zanu PF.

“It is pleasing that we are going to benefit from the chaos within the opposition. As Zanu PF we are happy, we were confident of winning the election even if the other candidate had not been disqualified.

“We were very confident of taking this seat, but we are grateful for the mandate to serve the people,” he said.

About Post Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *